PreSale Alert!

November 6th!

Thermal wet suit?  Right. Next year.

Do not be bummed! With winter closing in Chairmen of the Boards are here to keep the warm summer vibe alive.

We are excited to open up pre-ordering on Friday November 6th for our full length debut release Surfin’ The Apocalypse on (weewerk).

You have the choice of limited run 180 gram vinyl LP, CD or digital download.

CD’s are already available to ship! 

Pre-order the digital download and you will immediately receive 6 gratis tracks from the album including

the singles Board Whacks, Run-A-Wave, Moonlight Beach, the Dick Dale cover Taco Wagon, 

the album title track Surfin’ The Apocalypse and the sweet album closer Sand Between Your Toes.

 For those who prefer everything that is better about vinyl, the 180gram LPs (digital download card included) will be available to ship before the end of 2020!

 All pre-orders will be automatically entered for a chance to win a Chairmen Of The Boards face mask.  Might come in handy for some time yet.

 Keep scrolling and have a listen to all of Surfin’ the Apocalypse right now!

Listen to Surfin' The Apocalypse


A Surfside Story

Chairmen of the Boards are not a typical surf-rock band, but as their debut album Surfin’ The Apocalypse proves, they are hands down one of the best out there. Keeping things lean and mean, the new trio consisting of Toronto scene vets Rob Hiemstra (guitars), Leonardo Valvassori (bass) and Gary Craig (drums) blast out 14 instrumentals guaranteed to put a little extra wax on your deck and keep you ridin’ the nose through the riptide of daily life.

Leading off with the vintage twang of first single Board Whacks, COTB display the full range of their stunning chops on the deliciously funky Booty Wiggle, the kick-sand-in-your-face-while-I-sip-my-martini swagger of Dirty Grind, and a cover of surf-rock godfather Dick Dale’s classic track, Taco Wagon. If you only know surf-rock because of Quentin Tarantino soundtracks, then wax up and get the full experience!

Granted, the beaches on Lake Ontario aren’t exactly Malibu but Toronto does contain a small but hardcore surfing community. By extension, there’s also a small but hardcore community of surf-rock fanatics, three of whom now comprise Chairmen of the Boards. The seeds were planted when Chairman Rob started bringing original ‘surf compositions’ to Chairman Leo during a residency at Grossman’s Tavern, the storied Toronto venue long known as professional musician jam spot. In no time, the pair were working out new ideas, eventually realizing they were building up enough material to make an album.

Enter Chairman Gary, and after a period of intense rehearsals, studio time was booked at prestigious Toronto studio Revolution Recording where his drum tracks were recorded by Annelise Noronha (assisted by Gemma Mazza), the rest of the album was laid down at Chairman Leo’s personal studio The Notebox, where additional sugaring to songs was applied by keyboardist Denis Keldie, pedal steel guitarist ‘General’ Kevin Neal, and the Hang Ten Horns—Rebecca Hennessy and Carrie Chesnutt. Tracks were then sent to New York for mixing by Grammy winner William Wittman, and mastering by Greg Calbi and Steve Fallone at Sterling Sound.

“If you appreciate raw rock and roll with a touch of psychedelia,  then Surfin’ The Apocalypse will easily fit into your collection or slide onto your favourite playlist.”

By the time the sun sets with the closing ballad ‘Sand Between Your Toes’ (a nod to the great surf-rock producer Jack Nitzsche), you’ll be ready to pack your board into your Woody and drive back to whatever Hollywood you live in. Chairmen of the Boards want to help you escape.

Blog Me

The Chairmen Speak

Reach Out

We'll Be There

  • Please enter your name
  • Please enter a message
  • Incorrect reCaptcha. Please enter reCaptcha challenge.
  • Cannot send mail, an error occurred while delivering this message. Please try again later.
  • Your message was sent successfully. Thanks!
Copyright 2020, Chairmen Of The Boards